RMAP Cross-Recognition

In 2012, the RMI, the London Bullion Market Association (LBMA), and the Responsible Jewellery Council (RJC) announced mutual cross-recognition of independent, third party gold refiner audits, in order to reduce duplication for refiners, to support their efforts in implementing the OECD Due Diligence Guidance and complying with the responsible sourcing legislation.

In 2017, RMI, LBMA and RJC completed alignment assessment against the OECD Due Diligence Guidance and updated their audit standards, in part to address recommendations from the assessment. Following this process, the programs also updated the cross-recognition policy to reflect changes in the standards.

In 2019, RMI developed an overarching RMI Recognition Process that covers requirements for program cross-recognition of industry initiatives’ comparable assessment programs, as well as other types of recognition including Upstream Assurance Mechanisms and Voluntary Standard Systems recognition.

The following schemes are covered under this Cross-Recognition Policy:

  • LBMA Responsible Gold Guidance
  • RMI Responsible Minerals Assurance Process Gold Standard
  • RJC Chain-of-Custody (CoC) Standard (provision 1 only)
  • RJC Code of Practices (COP) Standard (provision 7 only)

The 3 programs are continuing to collaborate and are committed to:

  • Contributing to the continual progress of responsible gold supply chains
  • Continual improvement of independent third party audit programs, pursuant to the OECD Guidance
  • Maintaining international credibility and market acceptance of the programs